Jewelry Art: Expressions of Who We Are and What we Are and Where We Have Been and How We Feel

 

When I was a child I always wanted to do something “artistic.” I loved art class. When the art class was over I was so elated by it all I could hardly come down enough to get into Math classes and other subjects. Easter was so much fun in school. In the elementary grades we  made easter baskets. I remember ones we made out of empty Quaker Oats containers and colored toilet paper.

It was so much fun to roll those pieces of colored toilet paper into some kind of odd looking shape and paste it onto the Quaker Oats contaniner. When it was decorated with toilet paper we placed some kind of sturdy handle (of which my memory now does not allow me to know exactly what that was made of). The finished piece was always like a total surprise because I never knew exactly what I was trying to create, just busy creating was the elated feeling of it all, lost in a world of “doing something with my hands.”

Most children experience something “artistic” to do. They take delight in unraveling the mysteries of the world and then return to the world whatever they learned with a unique something or other from their own imaginations.

I was much like that, always lost in a world of wonderful creative play. I fortunately had parents who felt like children should be given a life to just “be” and to just “play” and have fun. There were rules of course. I had to stay within certain boundaries in my house inside and outside, but the sky was the limit after I knew what the rules were and for as long as I stayed within the house rules.

Most people leave childhood play and art behind as they grow up not even realizing that in the world of work it can all be the same, follow a few rules, and the sky is the limit as to what any one person can do, at least in America that is how we can be. The lucky ones remain artists in some way or another on into adulthood and old age and retain that wonderful childlike spirit of the world’s possibilities. For these, there is always another way to tell their stories in artistic expressions.

Making jewelry is an art. Wearing jewelry is art.  We can follow the patterns, colors and shapes of what we see and create new designs to wear and embellish our clothes or body. A jewelry artist tells their own personal story to the world in every piece they make. Each person can pick and choose jewelry that also tells their story as they wear their personal choices. Every piece of jewelry you wear from a jewelry artist is a tiny piece of their own special life’s stories. You might not know it for real, but it is.

Through the pieces of jewelry I create, I believe I convey deep feelings of passion, love, war, and much more. I especially like using the colors of red and black it seems and to me red means passion, black means darkness.

Passion has many dark sides to it. It seems every time I put on a pair of earrings with the colors of red and black, I look into the mirror and say: “this is me.” I am deeply passionate in a way that somehow also creates darkness within me, hence, the balance of red and black I seem to choose a lot in my jewelry designs.

I am especially attracted to heart charms which also indicates a deep love for romance and passion. I make jewelry to wear, to give as gifts and to sell (these are all parts of my story refected in artistic jewelry making). As I wear pieces I create and other jewelry artist create I continue telling my story ever so quietly and subtle. And it is exactly that expressions that are so delicate or precise as to be difficult to analyze or describe.

Whether people realize it or not, everything they put on their bodies is a reflection of who they are on the inside. Jewelry seems to just add the icing to the cake making a complete picture of us to present to the world. Explore my collections and journey into my world while creating your own look to present to the world as well.

Written by: Connie Limon, Owner of Carmilita’s Handmade Jewelry

Author: connielimon2014

Bead Jewelry Artisan, mother of one daughter and grandmother of two grandsons, daughter of Korean War Veteran.

Leave a Reply

